City of Lies wins Debut Political Book of the Year at the Political Book Awards / by Ramita Navai

I was very honoured to win Debut Political Book of the Year at the Paddy Power Political Book Awards, especially as I was up against some pretty amazing titles. Here's a list of all the winners:

Political Book of the Year
Revolt on the Right: Explaining Support for the Radical Right in Britain by Robert Ford & Matthew Goodwin (Routledge)

Polemic of the Year
An Inconvenient Genocide: Who Now Remembers the Armenians? by Geoffrey Robertson QC (Biteback Publishing)

International Affairs Book of the Year
Women of the World: The Rise of the Female Diplomat by Helen McCarthy (Bloomsbury Publishing)

Political History Book of the Year
Modernity Britain: Book Two: A Shake of the Dice 1959–62 by David Kynaston (Bloomsbury Publishing)

Political Biography of the Year
Roy Jenkins by John Campbell (Jonathan Cape)

World War One Book of the Year
The World's War by David Olusoga (Head of Zeus)

Political Humour and Satire Book of the Year
The Coalition Book by Martin Rowson (SelfMadeHero)

Debut Political Book of the Year
City of Lies: Love, Sex, Death and the Search for Truth in Tehran by Ramita Navai (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Political Fiction Book of the Year
Acts of Omission by Terry Stiastny (John Murray)

Practical Politics Book of the Year
The ‘Too Difficult’ Box by Charles Clarke (Biteback Publishing)

Check out all the books that made the short list by clicking here.